BE STILL

With tears of joy You receive me.

Like a loving father, you carry me.

You reassure and comfort my soul.

I surrender under Your control.

You say, my daughter, be still.

Be still and know that I am God.

This time, my tears I hold.

How long, O Lord?

Yet, tears fall down my face.

The beats of my heart…they race.

You say, my daughter, be still.

Be still and know that I am God.

I cannot pretend to be strong.

You know, how much for You I long!

A storm is raging inside.

Yet, from Your Face, I want to hide!

You say, my daughter, be still.

Be still and know that I am God.

I walk resembling a paradox.

One little fox after another little fox!

The innocent desire grows,

Into a sweeping fire it goes!

Yet, You say, my daughter, be still.

Be still and know that I am God.

What a hypocrite I have become!

My own evil I cannot overcome!

The temptation is too grand…

I am afraid I have become too bland.

 

I am neither hot nor cold

Just somewhere in between

The worst kind of all…

 

How could I even dare?

To utter Your Holy Name?

 

What a temptation, it is near?!

To deny Your Name in despair!

Yet, You say, my daughter, be still.

Be still and know that I am God

With tears of joy You receive me.

Like a loving father, you carry me.

You reassure and comfort my soul.

I surrender under Your control.

***

M.G.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

